By Josh Evans, OKC Barons on 07/09/2014

American Hockey League President and CEO David Andrews announced that the league’s Board of Governors has approved the following division alignment for the 2014-15 AHL season (National Hockey League affiliates in parentheses):

Eastern Conference                                                            Western Conference
Atlantic Division                                                                   North Division
Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles)                                    Adirondack Flames (Calgary)
Portland Pirates (Arizona)                                                      Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)
Providence Bruins (Boston)                                                    Rochester Americans (Buffalo)
St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)                                                Toronto Marlies (Toronto)
Worcester Sharks (San Jose)                                              Utica Comets (Vancouver)

Northeast Division                                                            Midwest Division
Albany Devils (New Jersey)                                               Chicago Wolves (St. Louis)
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders)                          Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit)
Hartford Wolf Pack (N.Y. Rangers)                                     Lake Erie Monsters (Colorado)
Springfield Falcons (Columbus)                                           Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay)                                           Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)

East Division                                                                       West Division
Binghamton Senators (Ottawa)                                           Charlotte Checkers (Carolina)
Hershey Bears (Washington)                                              Iowa Wild (Minnesota)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia)                                Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton)
Norfolk Admirals (Anaheim)                                                 San Antonio Rampage (Florida)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh)                     Texas Stars (Dallas)

Changes from last season include:
• Calgary’s affiliate relocating from Abbotsford, B.C., to Glens Falls, N.Y., and playing in the North Division
• Philadelphia’s affiliate relocating from Glens Falls, N.Y. to Allentown, Pa., and playing in the East Division
• Syracuse moving from the East Division to the Northeast Division
• Lake Erie moving from the North Division to the Midwest Division
• Iowa moving from the Midwest Division to the West Division

The format for the 2015 Calder Cup Playoffs has also been approved by the Board of Governors and remains the same as 2014: Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth. The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series; the conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed.

The playing schedule for the 2014-15 regular season, which begins Oct. 10, will be announced later this summer.

In operation since 1936, the AHL continues to serve as the top development league for all 30 National Hockey League teams. More than 88 percent of today’s NHL players are American Hockey League graduates, and for the 13th year in a row, more than 6 million fans attended AHL games across North America in 2013-14.

(return to articles...)

This Article has been viewed: 796 times